Sibling Challenge

Shabbat Shalom!

It’s before 7 am on Shabbat morning, and I just changed a diaper. All is peaceful and quiet at my house – like it was for most of yesterday, amazingly!

Usually, since there is so much to do to prep for Shabbat, Fridays are generally our least “peaceful” day of the week. I think that to a certain extent, G-d wants it that way, since it sets up the contrast with Shabbat! However, my Friday yesterday was an unusually peaceful one, due to the fact that my older four children decided at 9:30 in the morning that they would use the day to try their friend Kolby’s “sibling challenge.”

Kolby is a 14 year old friend of ours who is writing a blog you can find here: The Sibling Challenge. It is a challenge for siblings, based on The Love Dare from the movie Fireproof. Check it out!!

I’d like to publicly thank my children (and Kolby) for my relatively peaceful Friday. I suspect that my children had a bit easier time of it because they were all doing it together, but I know they did have some tough moments (especially because the two year old doesn’t get it). Good job, kids!!

And thank you, Kolby, for stepping up and making kindness and self-control
cool!!

PS – In reference to my previous post, maybe we should try to start a “Body of Believers Challenge” next?

3 thoughts on “Sibling Challenge

  1. That is wondeful! Thank you for sharing that. I also saw on there the child training bible. Have you done that? What a cool idea πŸ™‚ Blessings and I am praying for you.

  2. Thanks Amy! What a blessing that your kids decided to do it together and you all reaped the benefit of a peaceful prep day! My middle ones got through one day of the challenge, it seems as though they need reminders that they are “doing the challenge”, otherwise I THINK they forget. :-/ Anyway, I like the idea of the “body of believers challenge”! I think it’s an excellent idea. You first? lol!

  3. I think the whole thing is awesome!! Kolby wanting to encourage others on to love and good works, and the M kids for taking on the challenge and making the day a peaceful blessing for one another and for their Mama – awesome! πŸ™‚ I love hearing good reports. Thanks for sharing this one with us.

    And I like the idea of the “body of believers challenge” too. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

