Blog Award? What??

Wow – I was nominated by Dinah at The Traveling Classroom for something called the Liebster Award! Thanks, Dinah! (I had a lot of fun looking at her tales and pictures from homeschooling in Central America. Talk about the beautiful handiwork of our Creator!)
So, I’ll go with this, and those of you looking for deep thoughts might want to skip this one. Feels a little like a Facebook game. . .
the-liebster-award
The Liebster Award is given by bloggers to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers. It is to show new bloggers that they are appreciated and to help spread the word about new blogs.
So, the rules of this award are:
You must post 11 random things about yourself.
Answer the questions that the nominator set for you.
Create 11 questions for the people you nominate.
Choose 11 blogs you love (with less than 200 followers) and link them in your post. No tag back, but please leave me a comment on this post with the URL to your Liebster post so I can learn more about you!
1. How long have you been teaching?
As an oldest sister, I guess since I was three . . . I always tell my children that it’s their job to teach their younger siblings how to play. One of the first necessary lessons is to enjoy this gift of life!
2. Do you have a TpT or Teacher’s Notebook Store?
No.
3. What is your hobby if you have one?
Reading!!
4. What grade level do you teach or have taught?
All, from baby to adult. Just different lessons!
5. Favorite Season?
Fall – the mist in the meadow, the colorful leaves, the awesome holy days, digging in to a new learning season with my kiddos, and cuddling by the fireplace!
6. Favorite Food?
Oh, that would have to be B’Stilla, an amazing Moroccan chicken pie with cinnamon and eggs and powdered sugar. There is scrunched phyllo dough on top of the one I make (hardly ever, as it’s quite a project). My son saw me putting the uncooked pie it in the oven once, and asked, “What’s that? Buttered toilet paper?”
7. Favorite Christmas song? Can I say Handel’s Messiah Oratorio? But I don’t play it for Christmas. I play it because it’s full of Isaiah’s restoration prophecies!
(Time out for a pet peeve: I heard when I was in Israel recently that the Messiah was performed a few years ago in Hebrew for the first time, at King of Kings in Jerusalem. So when I got home, I googled it, and most of the links were to the Hallelujah Chorus! Hell-OOOO!! The only word in the Hallelujah Chorus is “Hallelujah!” And that’s ALREADY in Hebrew! How is that different? And the articles referencing it talked about how it has now been “translated” to Hebrew? All the lyrics are scriptures that would just need to be looked up in a Hebrew Bible, and set to the music. No translating necessary. Still, Kudos to the folks at King of Kings for doing the necessary work. I’m sure it was quite a project. Just had some disconnects in how it was reported. OK, off my soapbox, on with the questions! :-)
8. Favorite subject to teach?
Hebrew – just so I can have someone to practice with!
9. Do you have a Smart board?
Sorry – I have no idea what this is. So no, I don’t.
10. Favorite blog?
Several I will mention below, however, I have really enjoyed How to Be Israeli, lately, and it’s over 200 followers, so I’ll mention it here.
(Oh, dear. I just realized I’m doing the 11 questions that my nominator was supposed to respond to. Oh, well. They stand. How about we count them for the “11 random things about myself”?)
11. Favorite place to go on vacation?
ISRAEL!!!!!
11 blogs I love (in no particular order)
Now – to answer the real questions my nominator asked :-)
1 How long have you been blogging?
Since April 2011
2 What do you like about blogging?
It’s keeping some record of my crazy random ponderings.
3 What don´t you like about blogging?
It takes time out from interacting with my beloved family – but not as badly as facebook (see this article for my take on that!)
4 Do you sell things on line? If so what are your links?
No. I tried ebay for awhile, but it was a lot of wheel spinning for not a lot of profit. Again, I’d rather be wholehearted, taking care of my family! However, I am very thankful for those who DO sell online, cuz I buy a lot of stuff that way! ;-)
5 How do you find balance in your life?
Balance? What’s that? I’m a radical, and I’m OK with that. Actually, I use the Torah as my plumb line, so I’m only radical in the current world’s culture, right?
6 What is your favorite animal?
For hanging around with – my Otterhound/Lab mix, for looking at – peacocks!
7 What kind of art do you like?
Anything my daughters draw! (Cuz it blows me away! They are so much more talented at art than I ever was! Just proves that a parent’s ignorance of a subject will not hinder a talented homeschooled child!)
And colorful, whimsical, or realistic, otherwise. Hardly any modern/abstract stuff.
8 If you could do anything what would you do?
I am doing it, every day! Making a home for my amazing husband, teaching my amazing horde of children, following G-d with my whole heart, soul, mind, and strength, and supporting Israel!
9 Any Words of Advice to new bloggers?
Well, I still consider myself a new blogger – what is this? post #14? Sorry, people – I got nothing!
10 Do you have a favorite blog tutorial?
Umm – yeah – it’s linked on my sidebar. Just can’t remember what it is at the moment.
11 What are your future blog goals?
Well, nothing lofty. Continue to post every once in awhile, I guess. :-)
11 Questions for my nominees:
1. What books are currently next to your bed?
2. Do you have a regular date night?
3. What was the last thing that made you laugh?
4. What was the last thing that made you nervous?
5. What is a recent challenge you have been inspired to take on? Are you making progress?
6. Favorite dinner?
7. Have you ever visited Israel? If so, what’s the most personally meaningful site you visited?
8. A favorite baby name you haven’t used (yet!), or one you love, but your spouse doesn’t (yes, I know, Dear – you hate the word “spouse”!)?
9. A verse you are meditating on?
10. What measures do you employ to ensure that technology doesn’t take over your life?
11. What’s the most obvious blessing you’ve received in the last week?
Gotta run to a birthday party!!

Oh, and I would also like to invite readers to feel free to answer any or all of the questions, too! I’d love to hear from you! Which question made you think or just smile?

4 thoughts on “Blog Award? What??

    • Haha! Fair enough! I have my Bible and the Ohel Sarah Women’s Siddur, the latest Above Rubies magazine, To Kindle A Soul, Henry and Ribsy, Ribsy, about a third of an old copy of The Gates of Zion, How to Make Optimal Homeschool To-Do Charts, A Bride for Donnigan, The Egg and I, Cleaning House: One Mom’s 12-month Experiment to Rid Her Home of Youth Entitlement – and that is just on my nightstand. i have another two stacks on the floor, and I’ll include Grey Matter, the one in my hand when I got your message. Also left elsewhere in the house, currently being read is Almost Amish. :) if there’s ever an earthquake, look for me under a pile of books! My dear, departed father-in-law, with whom i shared my bibliophilia, actually did end up under a pile of books during an earthquake once. He passed on 9 years ago today, so have to give him a shout-out, when mentioning piles of books. Yahrzeit candle is burning!
      Thanks for asking!

      • And for the record, my father-in-law did not die in the earthquake – just got a bonked noggin – in case anyone was wondering. The two looked like they might have been related, on re-reading that comment. Sorry! :)

  1. Thank you for sharing…It is fun getting to know you!
    May you be blessed by our YHVH Elohim today in all you do:)!

Leave a Reply

